## AWARD BACKGROUND, PAST WINNERS

The <u>Henry A. Knox Award</u> is named after the first Chief of Artillery, and first Secretary of War, Major General Henry A. Knox. The award recognizes the most outstanding active component battery. Originally called the Knox Trophy and Medal, the awards were established in 1924 by the Chief of Field Artillery and presented annually. The Trophy recognized the best artillery battery and the Medal recognized the best enlisted Artillery Soldier. Before World War II, the awards were not presented. In 2002, the Knox Trophy was reinstated and the Medal was replaced with the Gruber Award to recognize individual Soldiers.

## **MOST RECENT KNOX AWARD WINNERS:**

2023 HHB, 10<sup>th</sup> MTN DIVARTY, Fort Drum, NY

2022 HHB, 5-25th FA, Fort Johnson, LA

2021 Alpha Battery, 2-11 FA, Schofield Barracks, HI

2020 Bravo Battery, 5-3 FA, JBLM, WA

2019 HHB, 1st ID DIVARTY, Fort Riley, KS

2018 HHB, 101st DIVARTY, Fort Campbell, KY

2017 Charlie Battery 1-320th FA Regiment, Fort Campbell, KY

2016 Charlie Battery 4-1st FA Regiment, Fort Bliss, TX

2015 Charlie Battery 2-319th AFAR, Fort Liberty, NC

2014 Bravo Battery 4-27th FA Regiment, Fort Bliss, TX

2013 Alpha Battery 2-15<sup>th</sup> FA Regiment, Fort Drum, NY

The <u>Alexander Hamilton Award</u> recognizes the best Army National Guard (ARNG) Battery. It was created in 2002 and is named after American Statesman and Continental Army Artilleryman Alexander Hamilton. Alexander Hamilton was an outstanding artillery battery commander and a skilled cohort of General George Washington during the Revolutionary War. Hamilton helped frame the U.S. Constitution and served as the nation's first Secretary of the Treasury.

#### **MOST RECENT HAMILTON AWARD WINNERS:**

2023 Alpha Battery, 1-182<sup>nd</sup> FA Regiment, MI ARNG

2022 Alpha Battery, 1-145th FA Regiment, Utah ARNG

2021 Bravo Battery, 1-158 FA Regiment, OK ARNG

2020 Alpha Battery 1-258 FA Regiment, NY ARNG

2019 Charlie Battery 1-161st FA Regiment, Kansas ARNG

2018 Alpha Battery 2-138th FA Regiment, Kentucky ARNG

2017 Alpha Battery 1-129th FA Regiment, Missouri ARNG

2016 Bravo Battery 1-145<sup>th</sup> FA Regiment, Utah ARNG

2015 Alpha Battery 3-197<sup>th</sup> FA Regiment, New Hampshire ARNG

2014 Alpha Battery 1-181st FA, Tennessee ARNG

2013 Bravo Battery 1-121st FA, Wisconsin ARNG

The <u>Edmund L. Gruber Award</u> is named after Brigadier General Edmund L. Gruber, a noted Field Artillery Officer, who as a First Lieutenant in 1908 composed the "Caisson Song", which the Army adapted as "The Army Song" (The Army Goes

### AWARD BACKGROUND, PAST WINNERS

Rolling Along) in 1952. The Gruber Award was established in 2002 to recognize individual Field Artillery Soldiers for innovations that resulted in significant contributions to enhance the Field Artillery's war fighting capabilities, morale, readiness, and maintenance.

# **MOST RECENT GRUBER AWARD WINNERS:**

2023 CW4 Calvin Cameron, 1st AD DIVARTY, FBTX

2022 1SG Christopher Servin, 1-9th FAR, FSGA

2021 SFC Grant Bolin, 17th FAB

2020 CPT Marissa Battinieri, 5-3 FAR

2019 CW3 Christopher Ludwick, 3-320th FA

2018 CPT Christopher M. Dixon, 2-3rd FA

2017 SFC Jaime M. Castro, 5th BCD

2016 SFC Zachary S. Wilkerson, 1-94th FA

2015 SFC Jorge A. Moraguzman, 2-15th FA

2014 SFC Daniel A. King, 1-320th FA

2013 1LT Nathaniel J. Holcomb, 1-41st FA