

ATZR-P

11 October 2023

MEMORANDUM OF INSTRUCTION

SUBJECT: Knox, Hamilton, and Gruber Award Program

1. PURPOSE. Provide information and submission requirements for the Knox, Hamilton, Gruber awards program.

2. BACKGROUND. The Knox, Hamilton, and Gruber competition is conducted annually by the Field Artillery Proponent Office (FAPO) on behalf of the Field Artillery Commandant to identify and recognize excellence within the branch.

a. The <u>Henry A. Knox Award</u> was established in 1924 to recognize the most outstanding active component Battery.

b. The <u>Alexander Hamilton Award</u> was established in 2002 and recognizes the best Army National Guard (ARNG) Battery.

c. The **Edmund L. Gruber Award** was established in 2002 to recognize individual Field Artillery Soldiers for innovations that resulted in significant contributions to enhance the Field Artillery's war fighting functions, morale, readiness, and maintenance.

3. EVALUATION CRITERIA.

a. Knox and Hamilton nominations: Excellence in Mission Execution, Training Excellence, Soldier Leader Development, Maintenance Excellence, Command Supply Discipline Program, Retention Program, Soldier/Family Readiness Support, Community Service Activities, and People First Initiatives.

b. Gruber nominations: Innovation in Field Artillery doctrine, training, material, or personnel solutions, tactics, techniques, and procedures enabling accomplishment of the mission.

4. SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS.

a. Packets must be received by the Field Artillery Proponent Office NLT 15 March 2024. Submission window opens 1 November 2023.

b. Late packets received after 15 March 2024 will be considered on a case-by-case basis. A Reply by Endorsement will accompany any late submissions.

ATZR-P SUBJECT: Knox, Hamilton, and Gruber Award Submission Requirements

c. All submission narratives will be accompanied by their Battalion Commander's Letter of Endorsement. DIVARTYs and FA Brigades are encouraged to vet their Battalion's submissions.

d. All submission narratives of the units or individuals will only cover the period of FY23 (1 October 2022 to 30 September 2023).

e. All submission narratives of the units or individuals will be sent using the Army memorandum format IAW AR 25-50.

f. All submission narratives of the units or individuals must include photos (no more than 10 photos total) of the units or individuals to support the narrative. All photos must include descriptive captions.

g. All submission narratives of the units or individuals must be a minimum of one page, but no more than three pages.

h. The FAPO will establish a panel to evaluate and select a winner. The panel will consist of a minimum of seven members in the rank of Colonel, Chief Warrant Officer Five, and Command Sergeants Major.

i. All submissions must be sent as a single pdf file with pages in the following order: Battalion Commanders Letter of Endorsement, narrative, photos.

5. SUBMISSION. Packets will be emailed to <u>clinton.j.davis14.mil@army.mil</u> (pri) and <u>tyler.w.dinges.mil@army.mil</u> (alt).

6. ANNOUNCEMENT OF WINNERS. The Office of the FA Commandant will announce the winners NLT 24 May 2024.

7. POINT OF CONTACT. Point of Contact for the memorandum is SFC Clinton Davis, 13F Career Management NCO, DSN 639-4573, Commercial (580) 442-4573 or email <u>clinton.j.davis14.mil@army.mil</u>.

Encl 1. Past Awardees JEFFREY S. WRIGHT LTC, FA Chief, Field Artillery Proponent Office